LiveTV freezes and shows a lot of artifacts

Discussion in '1.5.x' started by Snoopy87, March 31, 2013.

  1. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.3.0

    Description
    Hi,

    this issue occurs since 1.3.0. This happens on two HTPC (on mine and on my friends one). We tried reinstalling the whole system with no success.
    Sometimes this happens very often, sometimes we can watch 1-2 hours with no issues.
    If this issue occurs, we have to switch the channel and go back, to "repair" the problem.



    In the german forum there are also other users who reported this issue. As said, this happens since 1.3 Alpha or Beta.
    Another user tried XBMC as Client and MediaPortal as TV Server, and there were no issues anymore, so it is a bug in the MediaPortal Client and not in the MediaPortal Server.
    If I record the scenes where the artifacts occur, and play the record with MediaPortal, the issues is also visible in the record, but if I open the record file with Windows Media Player, the issue is not there! Only the audio interrupts at those frames, where MediaPortal shows those artifacts.

    Video 1:
    Video 2:

    In the past I figured out that the issue always happens when the EPG grabber starts. For example I watch RTL HD. Then the issue begins and in the log I see, that the EPG grabber tries to get the info for "Kinowelt.TV". But with only one tuner and no setting for retrieving the EPG for the whole Transponder or for "Kinowelt.TV", I don't understand why the EPG grabber tries to get the info from a different channel while watching another channel. This also happens, if this channel is not in the list of allowed EPG channels. Also this happens if the EPG grabber is deactived. If I disable the EPG for the whole TV card (and not just for all channels) the epg grabber still starts every X minutes and logs, that it has nothing to do, but the issue still happens at this time.

    Regards,
    Sascha

    Steps to Reproduce:
    1.) Install Windows and MediaPortal 1.3
    2.) Watch TV
     
    Last edited by a moderator: April 2, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Your TsReader logs i full of PES errors (those are related to your CAM):
    Code (Text):
    1. 23-03-2013 21:57:37.719 [11d4]PES H264 0-0-1 fail
    2. 23-03-2013 21:57:37.739 [11d4]PES H264 0-0-1 fail
    3. 23-03-2013 21:57:37.771 [11d4]PES H264 0-0-1 fail
    4. 23-03-2013 21:57:37.791 [11d4]PES H264 0-0-1 fail
    5. 23-03-2013 21:57:37.842 [11d4]PES H264 0-0-1 fail
    What happens when you use the default TsReader.ax (attached it to the post) which comes with 1.3 Final?
     

    Attached Files:

    • TsReader.rar
      File size:
      143.3 KB
      Uploaded:
      March 31, 2013
      Views:
      174
  4. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Sorry, of course this also happens with the original TSReader. I tried nostopmod70, because someone told with this version it would not occur so often. First I thought this too, but now I don't know if the issue happens less or as often as with the final version of TSReader. But the issue is NOT related to the nostopmod70 TSReader.
     
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  6. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    There are references to MDAPI in the TV log - as HomeY says there are lots of 'PES H264 0-0-1 fail' messages in the TsReader log, which normally indicates de-cryption failures - we don't provide support if MDAPI is used....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    If you attach a TsReader log from playing one of the corrupted recordings I'll take a look, but I suspect it's just differences in the way different codecs handle the errors (WMP uses it's own codecs).
     
  8. DragonQ

    DragonQ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 30, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +74 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    If you're having decryption errors with MDAPI, try disabling logging for all software involved. This fixed the 2-5 corruptions per hour I was getting whenever recording or watching encrypted channels.
     
  9. driver140771
    • Premium Supporter

    driver140771 MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 8, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  10. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Not if you're also using MDAPI.
    As stated above, @Snoopy87 is using MDAPI, which we don't support, so i'm setting this thread to 'Will not fix'.

    If your (and other users) problem is NOT related to MDAPI, you can open up a new bugreport WITH logs and needed info.
     
  11. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    No log yet....

    If you can re-produce the problem without MDAPI then someone might be able to help.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!