[MP1-4578] Crashes after standby. | Page 9

Discussion in '1.9.x' started by killer8, September 30, 2014.

  1. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I uninstalled WorldWeather, then let system go into Standby and took a look at the PC this morning: same black rectangular (where the MePo screen) should be on top of the windows desktop --> system hangs. So whatever it is for my system, it has nothing to do with WorldWeather. I will test Standby without MediaPortal running. If the PC then resumes normally, the problem is related to MediaPortal.

    Thorough testing is taking longer because this is the productive system in the living that is giving me headaches, and there is always somebody who wants to watch TV...


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    You can use a tool (SendMessage) to put MediaPortal in a 'sleep' state without having to really let your entire PC sleep.
    Usage:
    Start MP and the tool. Drag the 'crosshair' from the tool on the MP interface. This will set the Window ID
    'Message' needs to be defined with 'WM_POWERBROADCAST'
    WPARAM: you set this to PBT_APMSUSPEND to put it to sleep, and for wakeup you use the PBT_APMRESUMEAUTOMATIC parameter. after setting the correct parameter, you hit the 'SendMessage' button and MP should be 'frozen' (since it thinks the PC is in S3). This way you could let MP idle on your computer, continue your work while still testing ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    That sounds like a misunderstanding: When I say that the system is used as "productive", I mean that it is exclusively used as a Media Center, however, quite intensively, and I cannot just walk in and tell the family that I want to quickly test something.

    In the next step I want to verify if the standard Windows system (no active MePo) correctly resumes from standby. If it does, then there is evidence that the problem is related to MePo. If system still hangs then I know that I need to look elsewhere. The clean system worked correctly though when I set it up some 3-4 months ago.
     
    Last edited: October 6, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    My bad, seemed like i was referring to your post, but was mentioned as a (general) tool for those that are investigating this issue. ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. killer8

    killer8 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 29, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ratings:
    +186 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Hi, I removed the common.time.xml from my titan skin folder and tested mediaportal. But it still completely freezes sometimes after standby. So it seems this file isn't the cause of the crashes.

    Another thing is, as long as I disable worldweather in mediaportal configuration there is no crash. I've been running mediaportal with worldweather disabled since last week for most of the time and when it's disabled it never crashes. But as soon as I enable it, mediaportal will crash atleast 1 out of 3 times after wake up from standby.
     
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    OK, it does => MePo does have an issue on my system. No entry is made in the MePo logs though when resuming, yet the system definitely hangs until I use the Win key to bring up the system menu and call the configuration to kill Mediaportal.exe.

    What next?
     
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I think it get stay on standby mode :)
    So maybe you can reproduce with the tool or with the tool when MP is freezed to send an APM_RESUME and/or APM_RESUME Automatic message to see if it unfreeze MP.

    Normally on wake, MP should receive two above message but maybe in your case it receive handle one :)

    You can try with the tool only :

    1- APM-Suspend message
    2- APM_RESUME message (MP should be freezed)
    3- APM_RESUME Automatic message

    Maybe you can re-order 2 and 3 message but i'm pretty sure that i have see that when testing (faking) a standby and resume, MP now need to get '2 and 3' or '3 and 2' message otherwise it get stuck :)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  9. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Just did it: MP freezes -and then doesn't wake up anymore. After issuing commands 1, 2 and 3 the MePo window is not accepting any clicks or key presses.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,248
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,269 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    It seems :
    2014-10-07 17:27:22,604] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Main: WM_POWERBROADCAST (PBT_APMSUSPEND)
    [2014-10-07 17:27:22,604] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - Main: Suspending operation
    [2014-10-07 17:27:36,959] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Main: WM_POWERBROADCAST (PBT_APMRESUMEAUTOMATIC)
    [2014-10-07 17:27:36,959] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - Main: Delay resuming operation for 5 secs
    [2014-10-07 17:27:47,119] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Main: WM_POWERBROADCAST (PBT_APMRESUMESUSPEND)
    [2014-10-07 17:27:47,119] [Log ] [MPMain ] [DEBUG] - Main: OnPowerBroadcast - wait for ResumeAutomatic / ResumeDelayed message

    That PBT_APMRESUMESUSPEND was not handled and MP wait for another ResumeAutomatic -> MP stay freezed and can stay in little windows or not but still freezed.

    Maybe you need to send again PBT_APMRESUMEAUTOMATIC wait few sec and send PBT_APMRESUMESUSPEND, it should unfreeze MP.

    What would be nice after the fake test, is to test on real resume and send 2 and 3 or 3 and 2 or 3 / 3 and 2 / 2.

    For sure MP should unfreeze :)
     
  11. guytpetj
    • Premium Supporter

    guytpetj MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Director - Oil and Gas Exploration
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +58 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Can you try these files (copy them into the Titan skin folder, make sure you create a back-up of the original files) and see if the problem goes away. This is taking the weather animation away from the home screen, this worked for me (see post on page 8 of this thread).
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!