My TVSeries makes my MP crash

Discussion in 'My TVSeries' started by z3us, July 23, 2014.

  1. z3us
    • Team MediaPortal

    z3us Super Moderator

    Joined:
    December 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    118
    Ratings:
    +123 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    This only happens with TVSeries enabled, so I assume this is related to this plugin
    Thanks


     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    You have to delete your TVSeries database.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. DerPrinz82

    DerPrinz82 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 3, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Why does the tv-series database get corrupted so often?
    More than 90% of the time my MP crashes, the tv-series database causes it.
    Is there an issue with that database in special?
    It has definitely become more often and regular the last months.
    Does it have to do with the size of the db file?
    I feel like: the bigger the file gets, the more often it causes MP to crash.

    Greetings...
     
  5. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Ratings:
    +1,712 / 2
    Are you running anything non-standard? Conflicts with other plugins?

    MP-TVSeries does way more SQLite transactions than most other plugins, so if you have other issues on your system, it is an easy one to go corrupt, especially if your system forces a shutdown before it is done flushing all the data. As a workaround I have written an auto-backup/auto-restore script though that uses an SQLite PRAGMA INTEGRITY scan to verify if all the databases are intact. Should be easy to find on the forum if you search.

    It shouldn't be needed, but out of thousands of users only a few experience db3 corruption. That means it is a combination of things that causes it, which makes the bug a small needle in a big haystack.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. DerPrinz82

    DerPrinz82 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 3, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for your response.

    Actually, I don't experience other major issues on my system, excepting those after major MP or skin updates which may be caused by incompatibility of some plugins or something like that. As I mentioned, it's the db issue which is problematic for me.
    Of course, I sometimes reboot my system or send it to standby. But how should I ever know if the system has "flushed" all the data?
    When I'm done watching TV, an episode oder a movie, I send the system to standby.
    I really don't know how the db corruption can be prevented if it is really caused by a standby or reboot action.

    Greetings....
     
  7. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Ratings:
    +1,712 / 2
    Could be a thousand of things, ranging from driver, controller, drive, even cable or setting or combination.

    All it takes is 1 bit out of a billion to be corruption and you got issues. Maybe you have a single bit wrong in your RAM modules, that only gets used in extreme rare conditions due to the massive amount of other bits available.

    After you finish watching a movie, MP-TVSeries has to do a ton of updates to the database, as well as sync with the cloud if you use follw.it/trakt. Issues with TCP connections could cause delays in the seconds, and if you put system into standby fast then not everything might have finished. Logs should be able to tell you.

    Are you using fast SSD media that can keep up for the software/database side? or mechanical HDDs? never mind, I just noticed the M4 SSD spec in your profile.

    It is all guesswork, because you have not provided a single useful log file that might narrow down the cause from thousands to at least a dozen or so.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!