TV Server and Windows 8 | Page 4

Discussion in 'TV-Server Plugins' started by numa001, March 4, 2012.

  1. chinga69

    chinga69 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 27, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    refrigeration and aircon
    Location:
    penrith
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    hi i am using 1.3.alpha in win 8 at the moment and if you replace the tv lib it should work fine in 8 for you
    the only thing that breaks mp in 8 for me is if i try to use streamedmp skin

    thanks brad


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. congruent

    congruent New Member

    Joined:
    November 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I'll try that out. My Windows 8 installation did not recommend using Windows 7 compatibility mode and I assumed that since people are going through the trouble of disabling the OS check that something like that would not work. Thanks![DOUBLEPOST=1352156972][/DOUBLEPOST]
    Even the server? I replaced both files in both the stable and 1.3.0 alpha builds and both failed the check. Either way...I'm going to try to install using Windows 7 in the compatibility mode and see what happens.
     
  4. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Unfortunately this is not true. There are several things that do not work or need changes. The start MP at start-up option being one. There also appears to be issues with launching apps such as iso mounting software and comskip.

    The point about the check is that we have to support this. We can not be sure what is working and what is not until we have done some testing. Win 8 has been out a week or so and we are still trying this.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. JacobJust
    • Premium Supporter

    JacobJust MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 23, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Key Account Manager
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Just to let you know...

    Did a fresh "REAL" released Windows 8 Pro install ... installed MP1.3A without any glitches. Didn't even do it in Win7 comp. mode.

    Both Client and TVserver working nicely.

    I can view DVDs and mount ISOs without any problems using DEAMON tools lite and LAV codecs.

    I installed Stardocks Start8 dock that boots Windows 8 straight into Desktop and MediaPortal startup as intended.

    NO SPECIAL MODIFICATIONS DONE AT ALL.

    Thanks for MediaPortal...
     
  6. Infidelus

    Infidelus Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Not true. Windows 8 Enterprise RTM has been out since the start of August and was freely accessible by anyone that created a Microsoft account. You didn't have to be an MSDN subscriber, nor did you have to pay any other subscription fees to access the 90 day trial.

    Just because the official retail version only came out next week doesn't mean you couldn't have looked at the software earlier in its final RTM form. So please don't use the 'it's only been out a week' excuse, because that's quite frankly a load of old crap.
     
    Last edited: November 7, 2012
  7. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,270
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,229 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hey :)

    You can always donate to help us to give more hardware for testing WIN8 with a real env to test etc. :p
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. mbuzina
    • Premium Supporter

    mbuzina Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    627
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +723 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I am running Win 8 since a few days (upgraded my MP 1.2.3 installation) and have been testing 1.3a on my Laptop with all the previews for a Long time (obviously first tested earlier versions).

    I found: DVD Playback works fine. Win 8 has a DVD Navigator (at least my upgrade) and it just works. The only glitch is a little slowdown in channel changes (about 1 sec). To get MP to start up directly, I did the following:
    1. Auto Logon (disable password). This throws you to the metro (ooops, Modern) start
    2. Have MP autostart (it starts behind the start menu)
    3. Use Desktop Autostart as follows:
    Code (Text):
    1. [Shell]
    2. Command=2
    3. IconFile=Explorer.exe,3
    4. [Taskbar]
    5. Command=ToggleDesktop
    6.  
    Put this into a file named desktop.scf and place it in autostart (C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Infidelus

    Infidelus Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    You're right, I could :p, but as I'm unemployed and Christmas is coming up, I wouldn't hold your breath :)
     
  10. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    And we are busy with work so have not had time to test Windows 8 compatibility yet :p
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,270
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,229 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Yep, i confirm that Jameson_uk said :)
    But the good news is that now some dev have win8 @ first OS so we hope to fix mp for win8, that a good news :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!