[WiP] - TV upgrade - Combined RTSP, HEVC video and live TV rate-matching improvements | Page 5

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Owlsroost, August 20, 2016.

  1. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I installed the new TV Server on my Server, which is working fine.

    I also installed the new Media Portal Client on my Client. I can't start MediaPortal anymore, because I got the error message, that the installed TV Plugin is not compatible with the latest version of MediaPortal?! I previously had the latest version of MP (1.15) installed, before upgrading to your new version.

    EDIT:

    Got it. The new TV Plugin is not included in the MediaPortal Client Setup. It is included in the TV Server Setup, so I copied the file manually from my server to my client.


     
    Last edited: November 27, 2016
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,506
    Likes Received:
    2,776
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,061 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    When MP 1.16 pre-release is available for download (very soon), it will have all of the updates in this thread included.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. berlinerbayer

    berlinerbayer Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 5, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Do you know when MP 1.16 pre-release will be available for download? I am waiting for the download for the reason that in Germany we have the new DVB-T2 /H.265 Standard. I bought already the DVB-T2 Stick, but I can't use it with HD actual(MP 1.15 didn't support it).
    Or is also a test version available, higher then 1.15.0.771, which support DVB-T2 for Germany?
     
  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,506
    Likes Received:
    2,776
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,061 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. berlinerbayer

    berlinerbayer Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 5, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Thanks for your answer. I installed the version 1.15..0.771. But in TV Configuration under the section Codecs and Renderer I still don't have available the HEVC filter, as described under the following link and screenshots.: http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...ching_and_recording_TV_with_HEVC//H.265_video
    My TV HD channels I can only see in TV Server configuration under the section Radion Channels. I believe that in this test version the HEVC functionality and support of German DVB-T2 HD channees is not fully covered. If you could check this it would be grea.
    upload_2016-12-9_7-13-5.png
     
  7. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,506
    Likes Received:
    2,776
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,061 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    1.15.771 may not have the filter selection update (I can't remember), but HEVC playback will still work provided you have an HEVC decode filter installed e.g. LAV 68.1 or Strongene

    It should work properly - other users in Germany have tested the updates (see this thread - https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/dvb-t2-hd-germany-channelscan.134461/ )

    Did you manually stop the 'TV service' - use the 'Manual Control' section in TV Server config - before installing 'Setup-TvEngine-git-1.15.0.771.exe' (otherwise it can fail to install correctly)?

    The 'radio channels' problem you are getting is what happens with an unmodified MP 1.15 TV server. It doesn't recognise HEVC video, so it thinks the channels only have an audio stream and hence shows them as (audio only) radio channels.
     
    Last edited: December 9, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  8. berlinerbayer

    berlinerbayer Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 5, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    to answer your both questions:
    1.) HEVC decode filter is installed: LAV 0.68.1
    2.) bofore update to version 1.15.0.771 I stopped the 'TV service' - use the 'Manual Control' section in TV Server config.
    I installed this version on my PC before some weeks, last night also on my laptop. The result is on every machine the same as I have reported above.

    Could it be that the version 1.15.0.746, from the mentioned thread, is working fine with HEVC/DVB-T2 but not the version 1.15.0.771? Is it possible for me to downgrade and install the version 1.15.0.746? Then we could see if the prevois version is working as expected?
     
  9. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,506
    Likes Received:
    2,776
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,061 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You might just be able to install 1.15.0.746 over the top of 1.15.0.771, but I've never tried it.

    As I don't live in Germany, I have no way of testing TV-server with live HEVC transmissions - can anyone else confirm that 1.15.0.771 works (or not) with the German DVB-T2 HEVC channels?
     
  10. berlinerbayer

    berlinerbayer Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 5, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Now I have restored a backup of my pc with MediaPortal Version 1.11.0. Afterwards I installed the MP version 1.15.0.746, executed the TVB-T2 Scan and now it works. The HD channels are displayed under TV channels and it works as expected. This confirms to me that DVB-T2/HEVC is not working with version 1.15.0.771

    I am happy to find out the root cause, thanks a lot for your hint with the threat for DVB-T2 in Germany and the working version.

    As next step I will try to downgrade MediaPortal on my laptop...
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,506
    Likes Received:
    4,716
    Ratings:
    +8,180 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Just to make sure...
    Did you rescan after patching/updating?
    It's not enough to install a patch or update, because the patch/update won't convert the channels from radio to TV. You have to rescan as you did with 1.15.0.746.
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!