Unable to play "filename.." video codec: xvid | Page 2

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by tranquil, March 29, 2009.

  1. joystick
    • Premium Supporter

    joystick MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 26, 2006
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    38
    Ratings:
    +40 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I also had this issue and in my case it was the VOBsub filter that was interfering whith the Xvid causing exactly this error message.
    More precisely: I had to check "Load when needed" in VOBsub config, and everything was working fine again....

    cheers

    joystick


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Rotten

    Rotten New Member

    Joined:
    April 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Me too have this problem, and it's not related to VOBsub, because I uninstalled it for testing, and I get the error after I exited my external player or it has finished playing a video. I use The KMPlayer.

    I tried reinstalling MP, and for a little while the error was gone, but now it has returned. Must be some conflict of codecs perhaps?
     
  4. RandyKC
    • Premium Supporter

    RandyKC MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 14, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I also see this error since installing 1.0.1. I use an external player (Windvd) to play .iso files so when I see the error it always says it can't play video_ts.ifo. Just to test it, I unchecked the option to use external player in the DVD and Video configuration and the same movie played fine without the error using the internal player. So it doesn't appear to be a matter of a misconfigured codec.
     
  5. bryanchicken

    bryanchicken Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 21, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i also get this error when returning from an external player. The file having played fine.

    The only reason i'm using an external player (mpc-hc) is that the internal player seems to be extremely slow for HD mkv files compared to mpc-hc and wmp despite using the same codec (coreavc)
     
  6. russ9898

    russ9898 Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I also get this message since upgrading to MP 1.0.1. I use KMplayer as an external movie player and only get this message after closing kmplayer. I do not get the message when using the internal player.

    Not a big issue but would be nice to find a solution to it :)
     
  7. emb
    • Premium Supporter

    emb MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Scotland Scotland
    I also got this error after upgrading to 1.0.1

    In the end I removed 1.0.1 and went back to 1.0.0 and things work fine again.

    emb
     
  8. rekenaar
    • Team MediaPortal

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
  9. Sergey K

    Sergey K Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 9, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    student (aspirant)
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    +1.
    When I upgraded to 1.0.1 I can not play video by plugin myStream and MyOnlineVideo.
    In error dialog I have "Audio codec:" without his name!

    I do not use external player.
    In "My Video" all my videos plaing OK.

    OS: WinXP sp3, WinMCE2005
     

    Attached Files:

  10. andreas121

    andreas121 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 9, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Installed new XP machine with SP3.
    Installed mediaportal 1.0.1

    Getting the same problem. Can not play any video files.
    Error is the "unable to play" message with the correct codec information.
     
  11. kszabo
    • Premium Supporter

    kszabo MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 6, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Germany, Bayern
    Ratings:
    +87 / 1
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Show System Specs
    I had the same problem after upgrading from MP 1.0.0 to 1.0.1:
    several .mkvs and .avis did not play suddenly with the same codecs, splitters and MP configurations. I got it sorted very quickly:

    it was not the splitter, not the codecs or renderer. It was the new way MP 1.0.1 is handling subtitles (inserting the directvobsub filter into the graph). I guess the process of biulding the graph of Mediaportal was disturbed somehow resulting in error message. I did the following (as suggested in MP config):

    - reinstall Haali splitter with .avi support and enabled "autoload DirectVobSub"
    - removed DirectVobSub from MP configuration/video/postprocessing
    - checkbox "show subtitles" activated in MP configuration/videos/audio-subtitles

    I hope this helps one of you. You can also try simply deinstall DirectVobSub or go back to MP 1.0.0 (never had such problems with that)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!