Unable to play "filename.." video codec: xvid | Page 5

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by tranquil, March 29, 2009.

  1. dars55

    dars55 New Member

    Joined:
    April 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I went back and read some more about my 9250 and you're right.... it is DirectX 9 compliant. From reading around a bit it supports DX9 but can only utilize portions of it, which results in it being basically a DX8.1 card:confused:

    Not an expert on this at all.....



    [​IMG]

    <edit> switched from DX to EVR in Direct Show Filter Control and was instantly able to play back all files including .mov trailers. I am not having any playback issues using EVR (I noticed the WARNING about software rendering) so for now I am sticking with this as everything is working.

    Remember, this is my first time with MediaPortal after many years using Snapstream Beyond Media / Beyond TV but I am now loving MediaPortal and will only be using Beyond TV for my PVR portion and am dumping Beyond Media.</edit>
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kszabo
    • Premium Supporter

    kszabo MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 6, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Germany, Bayern
    Ratings:
    +87 / 1
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Show System Specs
    I do not have this video playback issue myself with MP 1.0.2 but I am wondering:

    why don´t all these MP users go back to MediaPortal 1.0.0 to get rid of this problem and wait untill this post-1.0.0 problem is solved. This would be a simple quick solution. as far as I see this problem started with SVNs after 1.0.0 and 1.0.1 and 1.0.2. MediaPortal 1.0.0 does not have this issue.
     
  4. Sergey K

    Sergey K Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 9, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    student (aspirant)
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    This is not interesting :)

    But I do not understand. I can normally play all my .avi files on my GeForce4 MX440 (no DX9 support!), but I can not play any stream video (details).
    Today I switched from DX to EVR , but had not any result. I see error dialog box when I try to play any stream Video :(

    added 30.05.2009: today I playing music normally. After I start wach video and get error dialog box with audio codec version with his name. After I restart my PC I normaly can wath video.
     
  5. Gagaras

    Gagaras New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am having the same problem with external player (mpc-hc) in MP 1.0.2 with latest Moving pictures plugin. The video file is played correctly and when i close mpc-hc and return to MP, I see the window error.
    Mind you, that if I play the video in mpc-hc directly (not in the MP environment), I do not get any error messages.
    Tried re-installing directx but nothing changed.
    My system is winXP pro sp3.
    Any thoughts for a solution?
     
  6. ronnie_t

    ronnie_t Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 11, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    fixed by reinstalled the matroska splitter :D
     
  7. olivvvv

    olivvvv Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 20, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Hi all,

    I have reinstalled ffdshow, haali, vobsub with no success, same error :oops:

    For Live TV : I use dscaler codec for audio, and nvidia for video.
    For Series i use : ffdshow for video and dscaler for audio.

    I will try other codecs...
     
  8. bambiz

    bambiz Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    fixed
    ffdshow-rev1928
    Matroskasplitter
    select EVR.

    Ati 9200. Some problem 1080p files.
    :D
     
  9. gumdigger

    gumdigger Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 16, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1
    same problem with h264

    i am having a same problem here with a MP4 file.

    Unable to play file: file name
    Video Codec: H264
    Audio Codec: AAC
     
  10. FdL

    FdL Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 17, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I think it's relevant to note on your replies whether you use an external player. I get it with Zoom Player, but I take it not everyone does.

    It's crappy too because it doesn't mark episodes as watched in anime and tvseries plugins.
     
  11. ep0n

    ep0n Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 29, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm having a similar issue, however my missing codec seems random. When I restart MP it works fine again. Using MP 1.1A. Using internal player.
     

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!