what happened to KeyboardInputPlugin ?

Discussion in 'Input / Output interfaces' started by cewillis, May 29, 2018.

  1. cewillis
    • Premium Supporter

    cewillis MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 27, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    MPEI refuses to download it -- 'connection forcibly closed by remote', and every link I can find is now 404.


     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    What did you need from it? It could be that you can now do it without an extra plugin.
     
  4. cewillis
    • Premium Supporter

    cewillis MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 27, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    It's true that I don't NEED it right now, since BackupSettings correctly restored my settings (including settings for my remote) after a test update from an ancient MP version. But since I originally used KeyboardInputsettings to configure my remote, I would like to have it available.
    Unless, as you suggest, the same functionality and flexibility is available elsewhere in MP 1.3 and beyond. Is it?
     
  5. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +974 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Your "System Specs" indicate that your remote is a "Hama clone". If this is the Ortek VRC-1100 (aka Hama 00052451), the current release of MP has support for that remote via the "Sceneo" tab in "Remotes and Input Devices" in "MP Config". Enable "Use Centarea Master Remote", and use "Mapping" to customise the button definitions.

    There is also a "Centarea HID" support package that improves the behaviour of the Ortek/Hama remote with recent releases of MP (it uses an AutoHotKey script), available here.

    What I don't know is whether these facilities for the Ortek/Hama are available in old versions of MP (so MP 1.3 might be too old to include this support).

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  6. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  7. cewillis
    • Premium Supporter

    cewillis MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 27, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Appreciate the suggestions. But I would still like to know what happened to KeyboardInputPlugin. Simple and intuitive -- doesn't it still exist somewhere?
     
  8. cewillis
    • Premium Supporter

    cewillis MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 27, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Found it -- but now I can't find the source. So the version that works with MP 1.3 is attached. No guarantees.
    Unzip, and replace the .dll in the ..../plugin/process directory where MP is installed.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,485
    Likes Received:
    2,543
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,215 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!