Which Antivir for HTPC with MediaPortal (1 Viewer)

Sh4nn0w

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 14, 2006
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I've heard of a number of people on other HTPC forums (like AV Science Forum http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=26) recommed NOD32 from eset it seems this has a minimal impact to resources. This is commecial software and I believe I will be purchasing it as I rebuild my computer next month.

I've been using it on my main PC without any issues for a couple of years, having removed Norton via a reformat (yes I stupidly installed it as I got a 1 year licence with mobo). Looking at my PC now, Nod32 is using about 10mb of ram on idle. Updates are usually only a couple of 100 kb, and very regular.

I tried it out via a 1 month free trial you can get off their website, can't remember how much it is as I've got a 3 user licence on it now to cover server & laptop as well.

spachti

Portal Pro
    July 27, 2005
    Bible Belt
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    You will not believe it.....

but they're cancelling support for the free edition on Feb 18th. Sh*t !!

No, that's not correct.

AVG Free 7.1 version will be discontinued on 18th of Feb 2007.

But, GRISOFT is announcing a new version of the AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition. This new 7.5 version with improved performance and full compatibility with the latest Windows Vista version is available .... :)

I,m running AVG since an eternity. Got the " Important " message for weeks now, seems i need new glasses. Sorry for the mistake.

mikael

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 30, 2005
    Stockholm, Sweden
    You can set up AVG to update the virus definition on next computer start and not notify you when it does. This will make the experience seamless. Also, AVG uses 3MB of RAM on my setup.