[Android] Android remote | Page 16

Discussion in 'WebService and Mobile Access' started by kroko, November 24, 2010.

  1. maxirk

    maxirk Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Please make start screen choosing option. I want to set Remote Control as the first screen and start using it just after an app start starts.

    And I want to have some buttons directly on home screen. I think it is possible to make some buttons (play/pause, froward, backward, +/- volume) as separate widgets.

    In launcher pro it's possible to create activities of any program as a shortcut. So just make the buttons as program activities.

    Look
    [​IMG]



    I created "mediaportal.remote.MediaplayerControl" activity as a shortcut to start remote control mode immediately - but it's not work :(
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Thundercats

    Thundercats Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 28, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    advertising business
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +4 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Personally i think, that if you make activity-buttons outside MP-remote, all could become very messy and confusing for most people.

    What's wrong with the homescreen selection? Now u'll have all the activities in 1 screen at your fingertips, instead of having them spread all over the place on ur android screen.

    Besides, not evryone is using launcher pro.

    But.... since i am not the owner/programmer of the remote, it's up to KROKO to decide... (and wether it is possible or not).
     
  4. TentacleNo1

    TentacleNo1 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, I have version 1.1.0 of mediaportal, but since it works perfectly for my needs I don't really wan't to update. Will this remote app work for this old version of mediaportal?

    It looks great by the way. If it won't work I'll definitly update. My android phone is currently out for repair, thats why I can't just test it.

    Thanks!
     
  5. fredflintstone

    fredflintstone Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 30, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    AW: [Android] Android remote

    Is it possible to make a home screen of the remote like the one I've attached?

    https://ssl.gstatic.com/android/mar...60-0-4a7c199f1378b08ede0ad70df5fca9b284ab9290

    with separate buttons for the remote, like the mce remote style, and some buttons for video, etc. to view or browse it locally?

    It would be very cool ;-) I did not like the actual home screen :-( further I can make some buttons for you, of you like.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  6. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    210
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: [Android] Android remote

    Hi fredflintstone,

    I already noticed we need some buttons for pictures etc. So I added four programable buttons ABCD on top of the remote. You can setup them to go on whatever screen. This can be setup in the configuration.

    Now having already two skins (black / blue3) and maybe another coming up as MediaDroid it should be enough for now. Skinning takes a lot of time. As well the space on the phone is limited. There are smaller devices, where it could be hard to press a button if they are so tiny.

    I like also to finish this first and doing another release. So its a maybe.... One thing came in mind, if you dont like the homescreen would it be good enough to start the remote right away (as option) ?

    Thats for now
    kroko
     

    Attached Files:

    • remote.jpg
      remote.jpg
      File size:
      95.5 KB
      Uploaded:
      February 25, 2011
      Views:
      189
  7. fredflintstone

    fredflintstone Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 30, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    AW: [Android] Android remote

    Hi kroko,

    yes thats would be enough ;-) I think it's will be better to choose in the settings which part of the application should start on start-up (maybe in my case I prefer the remote on start up).

    Further you attached a nice screen shot ;-) when do you plan to make this version public?

    IMHO, the okay button should be replaced whith a button with the MP logo, thats would be nice - like a MCE-remote, but with a MP logo.
     
  8. bravo23884

    bravo23884 New Member

    Joined:
    February 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi I just installed Android Remote server but I cannot see it in Plugins\Process Plugins. So I cant set the IP address.
    The dlls and the opt files was copied in C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\plugins\process during the installation.

    I am running the latests versions of Mediaportal and Android remote

    What went wrong?

    Thanks if someone can help ,e
     
  9. cubii

    cubii Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 1, 2006
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    32
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Show System Specs
    AW: [Android] Android remote

    bravo23884 : DId u activate the plugin under mp-config-plugins?

    Hi Kroko,

    I find the web-server interesting:

    Is/could it be possible to generate a small webpage with infos like nowplaying , Tv-Server status (recording?), radiochannel, wether etc...

    Because i like to use an old phone with wlan as something like an external diplay/minidisplay and all the other webservices like ipimp dont have a website with more than one info(ipimp has now playing, but thats not all i wanted)

    Just an idea,

    Ps: Are the html files generated "live"? because i cant find the files in mediaportal installation path
     
  10. swamprat96
    • Premium Supporter

    swamprat96 MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 16, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avoca Beach
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Hi Kroko,
    I've just reinstalled this and had none of the problems of the early build. Works really well

    Three minor issues- one of which is not of your doing
    1. My android (samsung Galaxy s) forgets the IP address of the mediaportal box when it hasn't been used for a while. Goes back to the default setting
    2. I can't select any other skin
    3. "whats playing" stays stuck on the last entry-unless I skip to the next track. But I have this problem with the mini display too- and only when the main screen blanks. I think this is an MP issue
    :D
     
  11. Prismind

    Prismind New Member

    Joined:
    March 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I have the same issue. Under the extension manager, the config button is not available. In the MP setting, the plugin doesn't show up at all.

    I'm running windows XP SP3. MP and This plug in is all up to date. There was no addition folder called Process Plugins under Plugins. The DLL for Process Plugins and Android Remote have made it to the folder, though. I'm just wondering if there is some back door method to get to the config, so i can plug in the ip.

    Thanks in advance to anyone who can help
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!