Animation slowing down in time | Page 6

Discussion in '1.0 final and SVN Builds' started by zeflash, January 12, 2009.

  1. rtv
    • Team MediaPortal

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Which I really doubt.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. CHli

    CHli Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    Embedded Software Engineer
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Hi rtv,

    I evaluated the possibility that a timer problem may be the cause of the animation getting slower and slower and AFAIK it wasn't the case.
    A few weeks ago I replaced in DXUtil.cs the QueryPerformanceCounter() by a standard timeGetTime() and even if it's not as accurate (~15ms) it should produce more predictable results since it's less HW dependant. But this did not affect my animations.

    I rebooted my PC tonight again for another reason so atm animations are fine, you'll have to wait a couple of days to get results with your test application but my first test let me believe that it's not timer related.

    So I was concerned about the Matrix operations or the Render() that would get slower as time goes by.

    Could someone confirm the impression I had the other day :

    When playing a video and going to the main menu (not the "simple" one) the animations of moving through the list (up and down) seemed smoother than when I was not playing any video. But the resizing animations (when going from a menu to another) seemed still as bad.
     
  4. rtv
    • Team MediaPortal

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    With "default" settings this is "normal".
    MP itself renders at 25 FPS (to save cpu cycles) while your movie most likely was rendered at 50 FPS. If you increase the GUI FPS to 50 in MP's GUISettings plugin you should not notice big differences.
     
  5. CHli

    CHli Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    Embedded Software Engineer
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    My MP is set to render 50 FPS all the time ;)

    But I think I was seeing a difference when my animations where very slow after two weeks.
     
  6. tangmonster

    tangmonster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    cape town
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    I restarted my pc 2 days ago so I am useless for testing until next weekend. I too set my MP for 50FPS , it just looks SO much smoother than the standard 25fps.

    mmmmm , did we possibly find something in common?
     
  7. CHli

    CHli Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    Embedded Software Engineer
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Yeap maybe changing the FPS is going to affect the amount of time required for MP to get slower :)

    (I still can't believe people don't have that problem at all on some machine...)
     
  8. tangmonster

    tangmonster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    cape town
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    i would love to hear what the other people with no issues have there MP fps set to?
     
  9. Swede

    Swede Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 6, 2006
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    West Coust Archipelago
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I keep mine at 12 or 25 to keep CPU down. Check CPU while you change.
     
  10. CHli

    CHli Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    Embedded Software Engineer
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    I will check but AFAICR my CPU usage was low even with 50 FPS.

    50 FPS MP is using 16 - 17% CPU
    25 FPS MP is using 8 - 9 % CPU
     
  11. zeflash

    zeflash Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 7, 2005
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    I was wondering about something - I use the StreamedMP skin, which has a RSS feed scroller. That means something is animated at all time - maybe this has some impact compared to others.

    rtv, do you have the same setup (skin, plugins) on all your machines?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!