Discussion: Find and Download Subtitles | Page 5

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by offbyone, July 19, 2014.

  1. elorentz

    elorentz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 6, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    I just want to add my voice to the need for subtitles support, my situation currently is that I have years and years of movies&series recorded with MP1 that has DVB&Teletext subtitles in them, and as far as I can see there is no way to activate these in MP2, hoping this is within scope of the development of this plugin.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    4,760
    Ratings:
    +6,814 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    DVB subtitles are supported in MP2 already (TsReader.ax / DvbSub3.ax based on MP1 included).

    For teletext I'm not sure, code is there, but I'm missing example files to check it.
     
  4. elorentz

    elorentz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 6, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Ok, is there some spesifics needed to activate the feature or is it happening automatically, I have made a datasource for the movies and got them imported, but when I start playing a movie I find nowhere to enable or change subtitles in the OSD, the only reference to subtitles I find in settings is in the DVD section I believe.
     
  5. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    4,760
    Ratings:
    +6,814 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Can you please post MP2-Client log files? There are log entries for enumerated streams (audio, subtitles), maybe I see something wrong here.

    If MP2 detects subs, the "[...]" button for subtitle selection appears inside video OSD.
     
  6. elorentz

    elorentz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 6, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Attached client log, I deleted all log files, then started MP2, went to movies and started a movie, watched the movie for some minutes verifying no subtitle option in OSD then stopped movie and exited MP2. I verified same file in VLC player for teletext subtitles.

    EDIT> Same results with Live TV, no option to enable the subtitles.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2015
  7. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    4,760
    Ratings:
    +6,814 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I forgot that TsReader handles subtitles differently to all other splitters. I've added a log line more for enumerating subtitles. Here in my example it looks like:
    Please try the attached client plugins (based on latest Weekly build) and post log files.

    To show how it should look like, see:
    01_OSD.jpg View attachment 164480 03_Subs.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    • Plugins.7z
      File size:
      930.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      May 7, 2015
      Views:
      85
    • Like Like x 1
  8. elorentz

    elorentz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 6, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    Did the following, moved out and replaced plugins with the attached,

    Started MP2

    Started a TS recording from MP1 trough the movies library, no subtitles or option to enable, files is verified to contain teletext subtitles in several languages trough VLC player

    Started a DVD rip from movies library, subtitle option is available and can be enabled and I get to choose subtitle language

    Started liveTV, selected a channel with know teletext subtitles, same channel that recording in test1 comes from, no subtitles or option to enable available

    Exited MP2

    Logs attached
     
  9. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    4,760
    Ratings:
    +6,814 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    In this log extract you see the difference to my one: there are no subtitle streams enumerated by TsReader, so the GUI doesn't offer you a selection.
    Code (Text):
    1. [2015-05-07 21:44:31,971] [28888  ] [Thread9  ] [DEBUG] - TsVideoPlayer: Initializing for stream '\\MEDIASERVER08\Filmer\Filmer\21\21.ts'
    2. [2015-05-07 21:44:31,990] [28907  ] [Thread9  ] [DEBUG] - Stream TsReader|0: MajorType 73647561-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71; Name UNK; PWDGroup: 1; LCID: 0
    3. [2015-05-07 21:44:31,994] [28911  ] [Thread9  ] [DEBUG] - Stream TsReader|1: MajorType 73647561-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71; Name UNK; PWDGroup: 1; LCID: 0
    4. [2015-05-07 21:44:31,997] [28914  ] [Thread9  ] [DEBUG] - StreamInfoHandler: Enable stream 'UNK (MPEG1 2ch)'
    5. [2015-05-07 21:44:31,999] [28916  ] [Thread9  ] [DEBUG] - StreamInfoHandler: Enable stream 'UNK (MPEG1 2ch)'
    6. [2015-05-07 21:44:32,007] [28924  ] [Thread9  ] [DEBUG] - TsVideoPlayer: OnVideoFormatChanged: StreamType: 1 720x576 [16/9 @ 15000000 interlaced: 1]
    7. [2015-05-07 21:44:32,027] [28944  ] [Thread9  ] [DEBUG] - TsVideoPlayer: Run graph
    8.  
    Can you please open the file with the MediaInfo gui and post the output as text here?
     
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Could that be because the file contains teletext subtitles rather than DVB subtitles?
     
  11. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,065
    Likes Received:
    4,760
    Ratings:
    +6,814 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Probably yes, this is what I tried to find out by MediaInfo output. Next question would be, if TsReader supports this correctly (as I don't know this). Maybe @Owlsroost already can tell us?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!