DOWNLOAD: Moving Pictures Public Beta 0.6.6 | Page 25

Discussion in 'Moving Pictures' started by fforde, November 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jojo1411

    jojo1411 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 23, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    37
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thank's fforde for your fast reply and for adding the issue. I hope it won't take too much time and extra work for you to implement it. :)



    :D


    Hi Guzzi. I build up a low power pc with 4 hdds that work in a RAID5 array. The operating system is Ubuntu Linux. I wrote a simple batch script that monitors the network connection, so i can easily set up the time when the pc will automatically go in S3 standby mode if there is no network traffic between the storage server and other clients. In S3 mode the server needs only 1Watt Power! The pc wakes up by pinging it from another mashine (wake up on lan). It needs approximately 3-4 seconds till i have access to the server over lan So there are no timeouts!
    I don't know if it's the best solution but if you are interested in I can send you my batch script and give you support by some questions.
    A better solution could be to wake up the server by magic packet. It's more relyable. But I don't know how teach Mediaportal to automatically send a magic packet before connecting to a network share. :confused:
    If there is a better solution, feel free to tell me!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. azimek
    • Premium Supporter

    azimek MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 14, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    Lead Software Architect CRM Systems
    Location:
    Germany - near Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    First of all -- Thanx for this great PlugIn!

    I really like the functions and everything around this tool.

    But I have a question.
    All my movies are stores on a central server. How can I share the database with other clients? Paths are all the same around the network.
    So d:\movies\somename.mkv is alway the right path to the movie.

    I want to install the plugin on the clients - and the clients should find the path to the database, thumbs and artwork.
    Is is possible?

    Thanx for the great work.

    André

    --- thats a second post ----- about remoting a mp server in network ----------


    Thats a real problem (connecting / sending magic packet on demand).

    I am using pstools - psexec to shotdown the server and clients connected.
    Up- and Downtime ist about 1 Minute to start client and server.
    If the client wakes up first and the server connection is not there yet, MP seems too hang for quite a time.
    It would be great if you could configure a MP Server in MP configuration so the server will wake up automatically when MP id trying to connect to a share or TV Server.

    I had the solution with the server waking up on every ping. That was not very good, because any PC in the network had the ability to wake up the server even if was not using any MP features. --> See Vista nework setting to change this :)

    I wrote my own plugin to control server and client with pstools. A standard integration in MP would be great!!

    CU ANdré
     
  4. fforde

    fforde Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,696 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hi André. Multi-seat support is kind of tricky. The problem is that currently the importer is always monitoring for file changes in the background. If you try to setup a multi-seat system, you need to make sure that if you are going to add any new files, you add them when only one system is online. You should probably look at this guide though, it explains how you need to configure MediaPortal to share settings between system. Beyond this it is not currently possible to implement multi-seat support with MovingPictures.

    If you do go this route, you should consider backing up your database pretty frequently, as it's pretty easy to corrupt your database with multiple clients accessing it at once. But for what it's worth we are planning on officially supporting this sort of functionality eventually, however it is a bit lower on the priority list.

    And thanks for your kind words. :p
     
  5. emphatic
    • Team MediaPortal

    emphatic Design Group

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,586
    Likes Received:
    828
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Surface treatment
    Location:
    Alingsås
    Ratings:
    +1,083 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I just HAVE to ask. :D Would it be possible for Moving Pictures (in a future version) to batch convert posters/thumbs to .png files with rounded corners and transparency to get this look:

    [​IMG]

    Emph
     
  6. Raytestrak
    • Premium Supporter

    Raytestrak MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Honselersdijk
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Looks nice, but shouldn't that be skin dependant?
     
  7. emphatic
    • Team MediaPortal

    emphatic Design Group

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,586
    Likes Received:
    828
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Surface treatment
    Location:
    Alingsås
    Ratings:
    +1,083 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    It's not possible to do get this in MediaPortal afaik, so "fixing" the thumbs is the only current way I can think of. + It would look good in ALL skins.

    Emph
     
  8. 2BitSculptor
    • Team MediaPortal

    2BitSculptor Super Moderator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    300
    Occupation:
    Sculptor - Maquettes, Resin Figure Model Kits, Toy
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +396 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I've wondered why one couldn't apply an image as an alpha in the 'colordiffuse' definition, besides just an alpha/color number. Then you could create al kinds of special effects borders and vignettes. That would be cool.

    Chuck
     
  9. rasmuskarlsen

    rasmuskarlsen Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 9, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    What is that program you are running? It looks nice :) Great overview :)
     
  10. fforde

    fforde Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,696 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Yeah, the right way to do this is to allow the skin to use masking images. Preferably with a full range of alpha blends. After 1.0 is released though and new features start to get added to MediaPortal again, I may take a look at tackling this though and submitting a patch to the core MP team.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Pretoriano
    • Premium Supporter

    Pretoriano Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 1, 2007
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    137
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Roma, Italia
    Ratings:
    +137 / 0
    Home Country:
    Romania Romania
    Hi fforde,i've just finished installing Moving Pictures 0.61 on another PC and guess what,after installing the plugin on a clean MP RC4 install the TV part no longer work.When i enter MyTV section MP give me the "unable to connect to the server" error so it seem the TV plugin part get messed up after i'm using Moving Picture.
    After that i've changed the stream ip inside the TvServer setup and this way i managed to make TVPlugin find the server and tha database again but even so the timeshift is started on the TVServer but not rendered inside MP.

    Tested right now on XP SP3 with clean RC4 installation and there's no issue here,so only on Vista SP1 systems.These are the things Vista OS i've tested have in common:

    -same OS
    -same Microsoft SQL Server (2005)
    -both using a hybrid tv tuner
    -same codecs installed
    -all microsoft updates
    -and both tested on clean install with no other plugin

    Looking at the logs it seems that on Vista the TV plugin is not able to find the thimeshift file generated by the TV server or maybe where the file is located.Hope i'm not botter you to much with this issue but i'n using Vista most of the time and for me Moving Picture it's a "must have" plugin.Here are the logs from the working XP system so you can take a look (please look at the lines after "succeeded:confused:ucceeded TvControl.VirtualCard " inside the MediaPortal.txt ) if you want,and sorry for my bad english too.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!