MP crashed with VC++ runtime error | Page 3

Discussion in '1.0 RC4 and SVN Builds' started by petsa, November 29, 2008.

  1. petsa
    • Premium Supporter

    petsa MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Hi tourettes,

    Do you think it is TsReader that is the problem? MP crashes long before I've had any chance to start viewing TV or anything...

    /Peter



    Hi again,

    I though I'd prep my HPTC for debugging so I installed the M$ debugger. I'm not sure what DLLs to install in step 3 of the description though...

    It says "Copy attached MS VC debug DLLs to MP root directory" but I'm not sure where they are supposed to be attached.

    /Peter
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    After talking to gibman looks like this is not TsReader.ax related (most likely). So the wiki link I gave you is not that useful.

    If you could build whole MP as debug version and the just attach the debugger to MP process and try to reproduce the issue it should give some extra information.
     
  4. petsa
    • Premium Supporter

    petsa MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I've never built MP so I'm going to need some good instructions to do that I'm afraid...

    I got the impression gibman could reproduce?

    /Peter
     
  5. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    I had similar problem until i disable/update TVseries plugin. Now seems it is working OK again.
     
  6. petsa
    • Premium Supporter

    petsa MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Hi hoborg,

    Thanks for the suggestion. I disabled the TVseries plugin but it didn't make any difference I'm afraid... Still get the annoying error R6025 :(

    /Peter
     
  7. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    You are right, i have another crash too :(
    It looks like RC4 bug...
     
  8. gibman
    • Team MediaPortal

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    It is must likely related to the usage of "remember last active module".

    I reverted "SVN 20891 - texture manager change"

    seems to fix it ...

    no more onresume problems on "remember last active module" for me.

    Can any1 confirm ?

    /gibman
     
  9. geichel

    geichel Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 11, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    17
    Occupation:
    R&D Engineer
    Location:
    Dortmund
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Problem cause...

    Hallo,
    I had a quick look into the logs and for me it seems MediaPortal has a problem to initialize the DirectX Device to display it's screen when resuming from Standby. You can try the following:
    1) Bring your system into Standby using MediaPortal
    2) Resume from Standby...
    ==> MediaPortal should raise an error message.
    3) Close MediaPortal.
    4) Restart MediaPortal.
    ==> It should work.

    If want to have a workaround for this problem you can use my "MediaPortal Standby Tool". I developed it because I had problems with initializing my TV card after resuming from Standby. To resolve this problem the tool does the following:
    1) Close MediaPortal on Standby request (if enabled).
    2) Restart MediaPortal if HTPC resumes from Standby (If enabled).

    This should also solve any problem with initializing DirectX display in the current release.
    The tool does not restart the TV Server itself but I think this is not relevant for this current problem.

    Regards,
    Gerrit
     
  10. petsa
    • Premium Supporter

    petsa MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Hi gibman,

    Sounds very promising you don't get any crashes anymore :) Do you know where I can find a build without the "texture manager" fix that I can test?

    /Peter
     
  11. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!