Using an External Bluray / HD-DVD Player | Page 2

Discussion in 'Moving Pictures' started by jof, February 18, 2009.

  1. jof
    • Premium Supporter

    jof MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 10, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    If you want also to change the refreshrate automatically to 24Hz, download this app:
    Display Changer :: 12noon

    Use following settings in MovingPictures:



    Executable: C:\Path to\dc.exe
    Command-line arguments: -refresh=24 "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD8\PowerDVD8.exe" "%filename%"

    When you start now a bluray in mp, displaychanger changes the refreshrate to 24Hz and opens PDVD with the assigned filename.
    If you close PDVD the refreshrate will be changed to the default one.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    that's a nice trick/tip for the wiki :)
     
  4. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    As not all Blu-ray disks aren't 24fps it would be nicer to read the correct FPS value directly of the disk and set that. As soon as I have some free time I'll add such feature on the Arcsoft Blu-Ray / HD DVD plugin.
     
  5. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I can add another variable (%framerate%) that will be set to the framerate but only when we have mediainfo or equivalent information available to our plugin (which we currently don't have). Also I would expect the BR/HD-DVD software to have such a feature already but apparently that is not the case. Remember that this feature is kinda of a stop-gap solution until the mediaportal core will handle these files in the future (or provide the configuration for an external player for BR/HD-DVD) and will likely dissappear when that is the case.
     
  6. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    I wouldn't hold my breath for such feature, no open source video player is currently supporting blu-ray playback.
     
  7. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    i didn't that's why we have this feature. Surely some solution will present itself eventually (like external player for BR?) :)
     
  8. cilla
    • Premium Supporter

    cilla MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 29, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    IT Systemelektroniker
    Location:
    Lüdinghausen
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hey armandp,
    is %framerate% already supported by the latest version of moving pictures?
    If so, where I change this attribute manually (without using a sql viewer).

    Because there are problems by viewing Blu Ray Documentations (mostly 50Hz) with global defined 24Hz.

    lg cilla
     
  9. arryo

    arryo Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 12, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I have problem playing bluray with Vista 64. I never had problem with XP SP3. Today I tried to play one bluray (from my harddisk) in my Vista computer, TMT is activated but no movie played.
     
  10. arryo

    arryo Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 12, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I just did a complete reinstall vista 64 , Total Media Theater, Media Portal and Moving Pictures but the problem still persisted. Any idea?
     
  11. crazyfool

    crazyfool Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 8, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Edit: I looked around the forum a bit more and found the answer to my original post... Now that I have set it up I have realised that powerdvd wont play my ripped blu rays... everything works as it should it just doesn't play... any ideas???
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!