video_ts playback -> black screen after stop | Page 5

Discussion in '1.0 RC4 and SVN Builds' started by hjbaard, December 3, 2008.

  1. flokel
    • Premium Supporter

    flokel Portal Developer

    Joined:
    October 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +157 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Issue solved for me after installing PowerDVD7
    (had not yet configured MP Video section to use it) :confused:



    As the graph shows EVR is now correctly used.

    Consequently three questions arise:
    • Why is Cyberlink codec used when MP Video config is set to use MPV ?
    • Why does the combination EVR & MPV not work ?
    • Why does the alternative combination VMR & MPV give a black screen after stoping playback ?

    After desinstalling powerdvd the issue comes back.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Flo,

    I have just seen a problem with MPV. If I play one TV recording with MPV, then next time I get a black screen, no video, just audio.

    I'm pretty sure I have the renderer set to EVR (on Windows XP).

    Could this be the same problem?

    If MPV and EVR don't work together, this would be a real show-stopper since MPV is the default codec.

    Mark
     
  4. chemelli
    • Premium Supporter

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
  5. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    the main question is, why does this all only occurs on your PC, and not on any of mine, when using the same sample dvd? :confused:
    i do not even have PowerDVD installed on any PC's

    also MP always uses the configured codecs here, i guess the "it does not use configured codec" issue you encounter might be releated to the "graph failed to build" logentry.
    just a guess.
     
  6. chemelli
    • Premium Supporter

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    but you have WinDVD iirc, so it may be related: with a DVD player installed the issue cannot be reproduced.
    BTW, I have PDVD8 installed and cannot reproduce.

    Simone
     
  7. flokel
    • Premium Supporter

    flokel Portal Developer

    Joined:
    October 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +157 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    i-loop could you please attach graphs from your vista and xp machine
    when video player is set to use MPV decoder ?

    chemelli

    thx will try these updates
    would be nice if you could test with powerdvd uninstalled
     
  8. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    I guess yu were playing DVD folder? In that case the dvd settings are used (as the graph needs to be build to contain same filters as a real DVD playback).

    Are you using XP? At least EVR is not officially supported on that.

    No clue. Maybe the graph is not stopped and destroyed properly.
     
  9. flokel
    • Premium Supporter

    flokel Portal Developer

    Joined:
    October 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +157 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    DVD section is configured the same as the video section (MPV).

    as stated on the previous page it's vista business sp1 ;)
     
  10. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    In that case most likely adding MPV to the graph fails or filters cannot be connected for some reason. Maybe MP renderes the graph then using highest merit filter from the system. Sorry, cannot remember who the actual code behaves.

    Was the MPV filter in graph but unconnected?
     
  11. flokel
    • Premium Supporter

    flokel Portal Developer

    Joined:
    October 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +157 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    With no codec but MPV installed,
    MP uses it, but assumingly can't connect to EVR and therefore uses VMR instead
    that works (playback), but gives black screen when stoping playback

    With additionally PowerDVD installed
    MP uses PowerDVD decoders (although not configured to use)
    and everything works ok ( EVR is used and playback stops fine)

    MPV filter was not unconnected in the graph (graps can be found in the zip files)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!