Default refresh rate not applied when switching directly to different media? | Page 5

Discussion in '1.3.x' started by TheBatfink, March 17, 2013.

  1. radical

    radical Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +219 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Now i understand what you mean.



    Sorry, but i can't confirm your experience.
    For me, if MP has set refresh rate to 50hz, it won't change to 60hz by starting any game.
    It's not a big deal at all and has nothing to do with the actual topic. I only wanted to know if there is another way.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. TheBatfink
    • Premium Supporter

    TheBatfink MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business System Analyst
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +221 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It is a big deal, a fix that breaks something else isn't really ideal :) plus I use myemulators too lol but its on a machine running @DJBlu SVN build so I don't know if I can mess with core.dll to be able to test stuff on it.

    To be honest, I'm curious what purpose default refresh rate was really created for. If its to handle media it can't detect the framerate of (ie TV) then surely it would be better to go Tonys route and actually work a way of getting the framerate in all cases or using it only for TV, or using the default rate ONLY when MePo cant detect a framerate and doesn't know what to set it to (fall back)?

    @radical what core.dll are you using with myemulators? If its the original I can do the same test also.
     
    Last edited: March 20, 2013
  4. radical

    radical Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    150
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +219 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Really not sure, but I think its the ordinary core.dll. I can't remember to have change it at any time.
     
    Last edited: March 20, 2013
  5. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,042 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Actually, that is quite a difficult way to achieve my goal.
    What will suffice for me has been said a couple of times (if I'm reading correctly), and would be to have a setting which will be used for unknown sources (and only if one of those sources is selected for playback)
     
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203
    Likes Received:
    6,167
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,148 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I could be nice to have the drr based on stream but effectively if none (unknown sources) is detected, why not to set a defaut drr :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    How does the plugin OnlineVideos match the refreshrate of online videos because there is no mediainfo of the streams available?
     
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203
    Likes Received:
    6,167
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,148 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Normally, it can't parse information but maybe something change @offbyone can confirm it :)
     
  9. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Well, lets say better, mediainfo of the stream is available but not before playback. :)
     
  10. offbyone
    • Team MediaPortal

    offbyone Development Group

    Joined:
    April 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    2,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +3,303 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    OnlineVideos uses two methods when possible:
    Since we have our own source filter (which caches the stream to disk), I can run MediaInfo on that first few downloaded kbytes, which is often enough to get an FPS from the metadata which is always at the beginning of a file.
    If that fails I attempt to get FPS from dshowhelper (@Owlsroost version) which has the interface for getting FPS from playing video.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  11. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203
    Likes Received:
    6,167
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,148 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Thanks :) Great :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!