LiveTV freezes and shows a lot of artifacts | Page 5

Discussion in '1.5.x' started by Snoopy87, March 31, 2013.

  1. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    OK - please can you try all of the attached versions and tell me which versions work OK (no "unknown error" messages etc).

    I suspect the problem is caused by the logging change I made, but I need the testing to be sure.


     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: April 8, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    They all work. Also the old one works. It's really strange and I don't know why. At the moment I'm unable to reproduce the issue, but I know that it only occured with your new TSReader and never ever with the old version....

    Also with your new version I have those artifacts :-( I few moments ago I used the Import-Function ("Scan for new files") in in the Moving Pictures plugin while TV was shown in the small windows at the top. Directly after I startet the scan the whole tv windows was full of artifacts.

    So as told in the past, it's a problem of MediaPortal, when something else is going on, but my CPU is not at 100% at those moments! While watching TV the artifacts always begin when the EPG grabber starts...
     
  4. bounguine

    bounguine Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    executive director + project manager
    Location:
    St.Petersburg
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    I looked throgh the whole thread but I haven't tried the uploaded TSReader_* nor gathered logs yet.

    1. No way to watch normally FTA DVB-S2 channels or DVB-S MPEG-4 channels (not the ACAMD problem).
    2. MS SQL now needs more memory (EPG grabber or else?).
    3. No problems in MP 1.2.3
     
  5. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    *push*

    Any news on this?

    I tried 1.4.0, but the issue still exists.

    Please change the status "will not fix", because it has nothing to with MDAPI Plus!

    For example: When the artifacts occur and I rewind and watch exactly the same scene, the artifacts are gone!

    The new TSReader versions from this thread are not working for me. Only one time, after reboot I always got a "Unknown error" and the TV Plugin is unable to start.

    I also made a new video, which shows SHIFT+1-output:

     
    Last edited: April 25, 2013
  6. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Have you done this........ https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...-a-lot-of-artifacts.117848/page-5#post-982307 ?
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    You have said this several times now, but so far I have not seen you provide any valid proof.

    You have said:
    Did you actually test with M**** properly disabled?
    The filter is still in the tuner graph path even for free channels unless you rename the plugin folder and restart the TV service.
    So simply testing with a free channel is not a valid test/proof.

    Reproducing the problem without M**** is evidence; this is not.

    Please respect the team policy.
    It is illegal in some countries, and definitely breaking terms and conditions for many pay TV providers.
    I understand that you may not like the policy, and you are free to use other software if you don't like it.



    This sometimes occurs for me too when my HDD is getting thrashed.
    As Tony has said, different video codecs have different responses to corruption as well.
    In other words, this test does not eliminate bad video codec behaviour.



    To me it sounds like you have issues with intermittent corruption of the stream due to electrical interference of some kind.
    The common elements between MovingPictures scanning, EPG grabbing... is system/hardware activity, in those examples particularly involving the HDD.
    The CPU doesn't have to be at 100% for such problems to occur. In fact that check is almost irrelevant unless you are decoding h.264/AVC with software rather than GPU. HDD load is far more relevant. For me, watching 1080i h.264 in MP with DXVA enabled (and lots of programs running in the background) only requires ~10..15% CPU with a 2006 Core 2 2.4 GHz.

    An issue with the HDD should be extremely easy to reproduce or eliminate as a cause.
    Just start a background process (defrag, AV scan etc.) that uses your timeshifting HDD and then try to watch TV.
    You should also do the basic checks for PIO mode, SMART health, etc.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    ...in fact...
    The other thing these videos remind me of is corruption caused by overheating...

    One final comment:
    There are clearly continuity errors in the only TsWriter log files that I've seen (first post).
    This almost certainly means:
    • corruption is present in the source (signal issues... or M****!!!)
    • HDD thrashing
    • something overheating
    If this is the case, anything that Tony does in TsReader is only a band-aid on the problem. It won't actually solve it.
    So I suggest that if you really want to solve this problem you should investigate these things further.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    As said, they are all not working for me!

    -------

    - Timeshift is made on my Ram Disc. It also happens, if the timeshift files were store on my SSD.

    - I made sure that no other background service, application, etc. is running on my System. No AntiVirus Software, no EPG Grabber, etc.

    - It happens on two HTPCs

    - It happens with two different TV Cards (TBS 6922, Digital Devices Cine S2 V6.5)

    - It happens with two different SSDs (ADATA and SanDisc)

    - It happens on two different sat connections (at home and at my friend's home)

    - When I rewind and watch the same scene, the artifacts are gone! So it is not an issue of signal, decryption, etc.

    - My signal is 100% and Quality is also 100% (same for the other HTPC of my friend)

    - It happens with all LAV Filter versions (DXVA2 is enabled)

    - It happens since MediaPortal 1.3 Beta (it doesn't happen on MP 1.2.x and old MP 1.3 Builds)

    - I'm not the only person who have this issue! A lot of people have this issue

    - A lot of other users don't use MDAPI, so it has nothing to with MDAPI. (also it worked with MDAPI and MP 1.2 and old 1.3 Builds, the mdapi setup has not changed)

    - It does not happen with DVBViewer, ProgDVB and XBMC.

    - It does not happen, if you use XBMC with the MediaPortal TV Server

    - As you can see in my video above, there are no frame drops and no high cpu/gpu load

    - It has nothing to with overheating. The temperatures in my HTPC are fine, and as told, if I rewind, the issue is gone!
     
  10. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Have you tried another video codec or disable DXVA2 with LAV video decoder.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    @Snoopy87
    Thanks for the info.

    Okay.

    Okay... but why were there continuity errors in the TsWriter log in your first post?
    Also, you said in your previous post that it happened with the MovingPictures import and EPG Grabber.
    Is it possible that there are two problems?

    Okay... but a lot of people also don't see the issue... so what is the common factor?
    Also, there are many possible causes of video corruption => no guarantee that everyone is seeing exactly the same problem.

    Are the two HTPCs connected to the same server, or are you talking about your PC + your friend's PC?
    What proof do you have that it is *exactly* the same problem?
    As Tony said earlier in the thread:
    With the same cable to supply signal?

    Measured with a professional signal analyser, or are you only looking at the [basically meaningless] readings from the TV tuner driver?
    Such readings will also not show transient/intermittent issues ("spikes").

    With the same video codecs?

    You're right - this suggests video codec or splitter (TsReader)... but again, this doesn't explain why there are errors in your first TsWriter.log.

    What about other codecs?

    This is useful info, but different codecs are at least used for XBMC and possibly Prog and DVBViewer => still not eliminating video codec?

    Again, this suggests video codec or splitter (TsReader).

    Useful info. Picture corruption without frame drops suggests video codec... again!

    Okay - I have to take your word for this.

    Again: please just do the test and then we can stop talking about this.
    I'm sorry to say that I will not be making any further comments until you do this.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!