Switch on computer using remote? (1 Viewer)

Geon106

Portal Pro
June 23, 2006
Kent, England
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Is there a way you can turn your computer on from power-off state using a MCE remote or keyboard etc? :)

just then i won't need to get up to press the on button haha. Thanks people :)

Media Portal is truely fantastic!

NickName

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 23, 2006
    Gold Coast
    Home Country
    Use the freeware "MCE Standby tool" (use google) to enable your remote to switch it on. XP is a little flaky with 'standby' but the tool fixes it.
    Simply put it will enable your (USB device) remote to switch it on.
    I have been putting my PC in standby mode and resuming it for a couple of months now with my MCE remote, very cool! :)

Good luck

NicK Name.

Marcusb

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 16, 2005
    Melbourne
    I'm pretty sure that you can also turn your PC on from a full off as well as stand by, but you need to make sure your PC supplies power to your MCE reciever when the power is off. If your PC is off and you press a button on your MCE remote, does the red light on the reciever glow? If not, you'll need to switch the power supply for the USB port from 5v to 5v SB. This is usually eaither done in the BIOS or via a jumper.

seven5

Portal Pro
    April 23, 2007
    will this work with any remote? or do you have to have the MCE remote and reciever.

I'm using a hacked xbox remote reciever and my favorite universal remote.

NickName

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 23, 2006
    Gold Coast
    Home Country
    The MCE Replacement driver 'should' work for all supported remotes, not just MCE remotes. As I only have an MCE remote, I can't definitely say 'yes' for your universal remote but if it's receiver is USB, it should be OK.

Marcusb

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 16, 2005
    Melbourne