Feature wishlist for MediaStream | Page 6

Discussion in 'MediaStream' started by pilehave, January 16, 2009.

  1. ThaClown

    ThaClown Moderator - Dutch Forums

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Responsive web design specialist
    Location:
    Den Bosch
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    - I'd like to see the artist name and info clearly shown in the various music menu's.
    I use the filmstrip view with the album art to browse my music, and in this view the artist name and album title are not displayed..



    - Also the radio menu looks 'wrong' someway, the icons stay on the left and there is alot of free space everywhere.
    I'd like to see a large radio logo and the name of the station bigger.

    - Personally for me, I think the details view of the Moving Pictures plugin has too little of the fanart shown, are there mods for this screen to make the info more down and move the dark gradient down a bit?

    I love the skin, great work!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RobinE

    RobinE Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 30, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I have changed the tvguide to 12 rows. I'm not a skinner so no guaranty! For my it works well. See attachments.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. mcardlej

    mcardlej Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    The Update from RobinE worked a charm... thank a million!!
     
  5. tebba

    tebba Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    A small thing, yet usefull feature.

    But, i'd like to see a "Number of movies: XXX" in the top when you browse the Moving Picture window. Just to see how many movies you've got in the database. :) I guess it's pretty easy to implement:)


    Edit: Loving it Raytestrak, thx ;)
     
  6. Raytestrak
    • Premium Supporter

    Raytestrak MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Honselersdijk
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I'd like to see a modification in the mediastream.dll, making it possible to select custom backgrounds. My idea: place all the wallpapers the skin uses in \Media\Wallpapers and if you place a new .jpg or .png there, you can select it in the config applet with the drop down list. Don't know if it's possible though.

    tebba, I've added the movie count for you. Hope it's to your liking.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  7. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I changed the plugin to do this, will have to wait to compile until tonight. I'll release a new version with an explanation later :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Raytestrak
    • Premium Supporter

    Raytestrak MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Honselersdijk
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Thanks! Is there a skin update as well? Just asking, cause then I have to make a backup first. I've editted quite some xml files since v17.
     
  9. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Not really, just the dll :)
     
  10. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    A bit late at night, but would you be kind enough to test this new DLL out? You need to create a folder called "Wallpapers" in the "Media" folder as you suggested yourself :)

    In this, you have to put your background-images that used to be directly in the "Media" folder. It shouldn't be neccesary to edit menu-items to keep your current configuration running as usual.

    (fingers crossed!)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Raytestrak
    • Premium Supporter

    Raytestrak MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    IT Engineer
    Location:
    Honselersdijk
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    It's never too late to be fiddling with your htpc ;)
    It kinda works, and kinda doesn't.

    It probably needs a skin update now, or users have to manually move the current wallpapers to the new wallpapers folder, since it only let's you select files from that folder. I placed a new .jpg in the folder and I can select that file. When I update and save, only the updated menu item shows a background, the rest stay black even if I don't update them. Moving the background images from the media folder to the wallpapers folder makes them appear again.

    Edit: going to bed now, guess it is too late to be fiddling with my htpc ... will do some more testing again tomorrow of you need me to.

    Edit2: With all the backgrounds moved to the wallpapers folder, it works like a charm. Didn't have to update my other menu items, guess it just looks in the wallpapers folder and ignores the media folder. I think this is fine actually, now you have a clear view of what's what. The only downside is that the plugin xml files look for the backgrounds in the media folder, so either you copy them to wallpapers folder, resulting in a double set of wallpapers, or edit the xml files to point to wallpapers/background.png.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!