1.16.0 - Skinengine doesn't scale proper with 4 resolutions.

Discussion in 'Archive' started by Helios61, April 17, 2017.

  1. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,587
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    MP 1.16.0
    Skin: Default Wide HD



    Hi,
    i've noticed that skinengine doesn't scale proper for 4K resolution. It is working fine with 1080p. Screenshot is attached. ->

    16-27-56.jpg

    Best regards
    Helios
     
    Last edited: April 17, 2017
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    4,857
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,210 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    From your screenshot it seems that the distance of properties inside a group stacklayout (<layout>StackLayout(142, Vertical, true)</layout>) are miscalculated in 4K :whistle:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,498
    Likes Received:
    4,711
    Ratings:
    +8,174 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,587
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Both 100%. Unfortunately the Win7 dpi settings (control panel) are replaced by new windows10 settings ->Link<-

    Does it mean, that this issue is skin related, not skin engine?
     
  6. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    4,857
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,210 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    It means skin engine related ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,417
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,426 / 29
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    I did not find in the group Layout, not one call to the ScaleToScreenResolution function. Like: MediaPortal-1/GUIControl.cs at master · MediaPortal/MediaPortal-1 · GitHub
    Therefore, not one value specified in the skin for Layout is not recalculated to the current screen resolution. Most likely it needs to be added to Layout.
    • StackLayout - spacing
    • GridLayout - spacing, horizontalSpacing, verticalSpacing
    • RingLayout - spacing, horizontalSpacing, verticalSpacing
    • TableLayout - width, spacing, horizontalSpacing, verticalSpacing
    To recalculate the distance between the elements.
    But I'm not sure Whether this function will be called or not. :):whistle::coffee:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    4,857
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,210 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    That´s what I thought already a long time ;)
    These misplacements also happen if someone has a resolution of e.g. 1600x1200 or any other different from 1920x1080 ;)
    Can you possibly "repair" it (add the ScaleToScreenResolution function) ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,417
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,426 / 29
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    I can try.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,417
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,426 / 29
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    JIRA created ...
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!