Support Requests | Page 2

Discussion in 'MediaPortal iViewer' started by joostzilla, June 17, 2014.

  1. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    Done that. Nothing in the logs regaring wake on lan.

    Yes, from another tool on iPad the wake-on-lan feature works.

    Out of interest, how would I do this: configure Dyndns instead of local IP?



    Argh...just reading now ;-)

    Yeah, then it works! I get a "Utils: Send WOL" and the htpc is starting! So you gonna include it in next update?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Will be in next update...
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. Bernacchini

    Bernacchini Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 6, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Ok, the problem with red X in Recording disappeares without any workaround... good.

    Now I sperimented a problem with navigating a video during playback.
    As the video starts, the progress bar begins to enlarge as it is buffering. So I can't skip as fast as I would i.e. to min 7 as soon as the video starts. I have to wait 'till the buffer begins to load enough data to move the video progression bar no more than 1 minute, then I have to wait the buffer loads another piece of the video to skip forward another minute and so on...
    Another navigation issue is the "back". For example, if I am at min 30 I can't roll back to the beginning of the video with the navigation bar: it rolled back only 1 or 2 minutes, no more. I have to close and restart the video.
     
  5. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Please supply logs if you get problems with recordings again.

    I assume that you are talking about streaming and not playing video in mediaportal. You need to use the slider underneath the video when not in full screen(pinch gesture if you are in full screen to reuce size of window) to seek in time that is not buffered. Drag the slider to the time you want and the stream will start to buffer from that time. Its not a perfect solution but the best we could get since we do not have 100% control of the video object.
     
  6. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Stig, google the term "wake on lan over internet". Using dyndns or external ip if its static is the first step. There are several webpages that can send the package. The issue is that the package can get lost on the way since some gear do not let it through, it could e.g be a router that cant be configure to let it through. I have tried with my gear without success. It ended with me sending a tcp package to a computer with girder, girder then sent the udp package to wake the htpc. Now I have my HTPC constant on so dont need WOL myself.
     
  7. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    Yeah, wake on lan via internet is working quite well here. I just wasn't quite sure how to set this up in MPiV. But does that mean, that MPiV is always using the 3G-Profile for streaming as I will use dyndns-adress instead of local IP?
     
  8. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Why should it use 3g? I only use dyndns instead of local ip in MpiV. That is on four ipads and only one of them has a 3g card. The 3g streaming profile is only used when your not on a wifi network.
     
  9. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    Thanks, thats what I wanted to know.
     
  10. pACE

    pACE Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 17, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I have one question about the power icon. I run MediaPortal and Tv-Server on separate client computers and have MPExtended running on the TV-server. The TV-server also have the MediaPortal Client installed with the same plugins as on the MediaPortal HTPC connected to the TV so that MPExtended have my movies and tv-shows. Since my TV-server is always online and my HTPC isn't I always have access to my media.
    I run the MPiV Demo version av have both MPExtended options configured with the IP of my TV-server. The Wifi Remote is configured with the IP of the HTPC.
    So, when I press the Power icon what am I suppose to control, MPExtended or Wifi Remote? When I press Sleep button it puts my TV-Server to sleep and not my HTPC. Am I doing something wrong here or is it supposed to work like this? I would like to have the option to choose what to put to sleep.
     
  11. johanj
    • Premium Supporter

    johanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    January 31, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +398 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    The power functions communicate with the MPExtended tray application. This mean that you can start/stop MediaPortal and send the different power modes without having MediaPortal running. The power mode commands are sent to the clients MPExtended. So it's expected behaviour but I can understand that it's not what you want.

    I will add this as a user request and we will see if we can add it in an consistent way. Most parts could also be handled by WifiRemtote but then MediaPortal ofcourse need to be running and one can therefore not start MediaPortal when it's not running.

    I think the typical user scenario is having MPExtended on each client and then it really doesn't matter if one use WifiRemote or MPExt. for power mode commands.

    I can see a workarounds for now. You could configure your HTPC to got to sleep after x amount of minutes on Home screen. Then you can in MPiV press the Home button in remote so MediaPortal jump to Home screen.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!